Velvet Jazz – CD


George Golla and Sharny Russell were both engaged as the guitar and vocal tutors at the 1994 Queensland Summer Jazz Clinics by jazz entrepreneur, Greg Quigley. This was their first meeting – just before they went on stage, actually. Their impromptu duo performance at the faculty concert surprised and delighted all present, including George and Sharny. George requested a recording session with Sharny; it took a few years but finally, with some money put up by a friend, this album was created in one afternoon in John Morrison’s mastering suite.

Out of stock

Track listing for “Velvet Jazz”

  • If I Were a Bell (Loesser)
  • My Romance (Rodgers and Hart)
  • Give Me the Simple Life (Ruby and Bloom)
  • Moon River (Mancini and Mercer)
  • The Days of Wine and Roses (Mancini and Mercer)
  • I’ve Grown Accustomed to His Face (Loewe)
  • I’ve Got a Crush on You (Gershwin and Gershwin)
  • You Stepped Out of a Dream (Brown and Cahn)
  • I Should Care (Cahn, Stordahl and Weston)
  • My Ship (Weill and I.Gershwin)
  • There Will Never Be Another You (Warren and Gordon)
  • Teach Me Tonight (DePAul and Cahn)
  • You Go To My Head (Coots and Gillespe)
  • Our Love is Here to Stay (G. Gershwin)
  • I Get Along Without You Very Well (Carmichael)
  • I Didn’t Know What Time it Was (Rodgers and Hart)
  • Lonely Night (Peg Russell, Sharny’s Mum)
  • You Came By (Sharny Russell)