Velvet Live – CD


A live recording of Sharny Russell and George Golla performing favourites from the Great American Songbook. Two musical friends with a unique rapport – George has said he has not had this with any other person aside from his long-time musical partner, Don Burrows.

John Morrison, who recorded the album, has this to say: “This recording was always going to be good. Musicians like Sharny and George have an effortless way with their music and the empathy and experience they share affirms this duo as one of the classics. They say that two of the most important things in life are love and laughter. Well, this is the music that goes with it”.

Track listing for “Velvet Live”

  • Honeysuckle Rose (Waller)
  • I’m Old Fashioned (Kern and Mercer)
  • It Never Entered My Mind (Rodgers and Hart)
  • Manha de Carnaval (Bonfa)
  • The Nearness of You (Carmichael)
  • You Took Advantage of Me ((Rodgers and Hart)
  • When I Fall in Love (Young and Heyman)
  • How Deep is the Ocean (Berlin)
  • Time After Time (Styne and Ball)
  • Just in Time (Styne, Comden and Green)
  • If I Should Lose You (Rainger)
  • What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life (Bergman and Legrand)
  • I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter (Ahlert and Young)
  • The Gentle Rain (Bonfa)
  • I Wish You Love (Trenet and Chauliac)
  • I’ve Got the World on a String (Arlen and Koehler)